Model Fit: Sugar Free

As I mentioned yesterday, sugar and I have a complicated relationship. Sugar gives me energy spikes to get through some of the more tedious tasks of my day. Sugar lifts my spirit with a jolt of endorphins when I’m feeling a bit down-and-out. Sugar doesn’t judge me, and sugar can appreciate what I’m going through, especially if it’s something I can’t share with those around me.

But sugar isn’t really my friend. Which is why my goal for this week is to go sugar free. And by sugar free I mean not eating candy at work or making a batch of cookies every night when I get home. Strawberries never did me any harm, and who can live without ketchup!

(Who knew there was a thing like strawberry ketchup. Must try!)

So far, I’ve got Day One down. Day Two was a bit rougher. Partially because we had a BBQ at work today, and the plate of brownies, lemon tarts, and coconut and chocolate square was just too tempting. Then at 4:30 just as I was about to cave and trudge to the Mike n’ Ike’s, I remembered the plum in my bag.

Fruit: 1. Candy: 0.

It’s all about baby steps. Taking one small goal then increasing that goal slowly over time. I have eight weeks until our vacation in Turks and Caicos. We’ll have five days to lounge on the beach, go sailing every day, and play volleyball against some pros warming up for a tournament the week after we’re staying at Club Med. While I’d love to say I’ll be feeling svelte and healthy by homecoming in 4 weeks, I have to have a more realistic goal. Besides, MyFitnessPal says I’ll be down to 140 lbs in 5 weeks. That includes a burger for lunch and a massive sweet potato for dinner. Not too shabby.

Now back to my glass of Pinot Noir, my treat for avoiding the sweets in the office today and gearing up for Day Three. Cheers!

One thought on “Model Fit: Sugar Free

  1. Girl I soooo encourage you to get your sugars from fruits and natural sources like honey, just stay away from sugar-free as in chemical alternatives to sugar. bad bad bad. I will be rooting for you.

Leave a Reply

