If I Was a Signature Drink I’d be Strawberry Lemonade…With a Twist

Last night I met up with some Dukies and a few UVA Cavaliers (Don’t judge, VTech is my Virginia school) in Dupont Circle. We ended up wandering down to U Street where we found a great little bar with no line and an amazing air conditioning system. With the heat wave in DC at the moment, it was a critical decision to get out of the heat. While one of the boys was ordering Yucca fries with a tangy mayonnaise sauce, I caught a glimpse of the cocktail menu. They had this delicious glass on their list:

a Strawberry Lemonade. The ingredients were listed as Vodka, fresh strawberry purée, and fresh lemon juice which they squeezed out of a lemon wedge in front of me. I’d definitely call that fresh.

Because the girls and I became immediately obsessed with this drink, I searched for a recipe. This one adds seltzer water, but it suggests using Absolut Citron or another lemon-infused vodka, which is exactly what I will do for my next roof-top party. I’ll probably skip the seltzer water in favor of a fresh, traditional lemonade flavor without the added bubbles. Thanks http://www.Chow.com for your user-submitted recipe section where I found these instructions:

  • 2 ounces vodka (ideally lemon-infused or citron)
  • 2 ounce freshly squeezed lemonade
  • 1 ounce strawberry puree (doesn’t need to be strained)
  • 1/2 ounce club soda or seltzer water
  • Half strawberry or mint sprig for garnish
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. In a separate container, purée strawberries using a blender or hand-held immersion blender. Extra puree can be frozen for future use.
  2. Fill a highball glass with ice.
  3. Pour vodka, lemonade, strawberry puree, and seltzer water in glass and stir to combine puree with other ingredients.
  4. Garnish with half or whole strawberry or mint sprig.

Again, I would skip the seltzer water, and the recipe suggested using any type of berry to make the purée. I’ll definitely try raspberries, but I’d be curious how blueberries might taste as well. Definitely an experiment for August! Share your favorite summer cocktail and I’d love  other recipes to try! Try and stay cool!

Cheers,

Jenna Kate

Leave a Reply

